My Goals for 2017

RD ProfileThis time last year I was seriously unhappy, massively unhealthy, unbelievably unfit and fat (as you’ll be able to see from the picture on the right with the purple background).  

So taking inspiration from Barney Stinson who says in How I met your mother: “When I am sad, I stop being sad and be awesome instead” so I made a change and just got on with it. 

I set myself the following targets:

  • Get back to Brazilian Jiu Jitsu
  • Stop smoking
  • Lose weight
  • Read 12 books
  • Finish learning to drive

 

How did I do?

  • I stopped smoking and adjusted my nutrition and alcohol intake which meant I got healthy along with the cardio and HIIT exercises I was doing I reduced my walking weight from 24st 4lbs (kg) by 2st by April.
  • I returned to Brazilian Jiu Jitsu in January and Gracie Barra Birmingham in April. I was awarded a third stripe in May and a fourth stripe in September before winning a Silver Medal in my first No Gi competition. I competed at the Nottingham Open and was awarded a Bronze medal. 
  • I was promoted to Blue Belt at the Gracie Barra Birmingham Annual Gathering on the 17th December by my teacher, Braulio Estima, which wasn’t a goal for 2016 but was certainly a goal I had aspired to achieve since 2007.
  • Rather than learning to drive I saved up and booked my first holiday to Lisbon for the European Championships in January 2017 and started saving for a second holiday to Rio de Janiero in 2017, but I will be learning to drive as soon as I come back from Rio, and I am looking very much forward to flying out and spending time there.
  • I still have a few books to read but instead I learnt to speak and write Brazilian Portuguese, which should come in handy for my trips to Portugal in January and Brazil in May.

What I look like now:


My BJJ goals for the year to come:

  1. Tijuca Tennis ClubMedal at three different competitions, including the British Open 2017.
  2. Medal at the British Open at Blue Belt (May 2017) and compete in the Absolute division.
  3. Compete at the Rio Open 2017, Brazil – May/June 2017, at the Barra de Tijuca Tennis Club.
  4. Compete in one No Gi competition.
  5. Learn to be a Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Referee.
Leave a Reply

